Research Committee

The focus of the research committee is to coordinate and direct research within the CENA in accordance with national guidelines. The committee aims to support quality research which is relevant to emergency nursing by collaborating with multidisciplinary research teams, promoting evidence based practice and incorporating findings into clinical practice and acting as a conduit for research enquiries from members or outside groups to facilitate research appropriate to goals and objectives of CENA.

CENA is supportive of research that improves the evidence base for emergency nurses and will support research projects in a number of ways. One example is to send invitations to participate in studies to our membership. There is a rigorous process to ensure that our members only receive invitations from studies that are considered to be of interest to emergency nurses and are methodologically and ethically sound. If you are interested in accessing our membership please download this document to review the criteria and format for your application.

Click here to meet the CENA Research Committee


Aims and objectives

The aim of the research committee is to promote quality research relevant to the specialty of emergency nursing.

The objectives of the research committee are to:

  • develop CENA’s research directions,
  • develop strategies to support research that is relevant to emergency nursing,
  • increase the visibility of emergency nursing research at state, national and international levels,
  • strengthen CENA’s governance of research.


Member Role Appointed to
Assoc. Professor Julia Morphet Committee Chair October 2021
Wayne Varndell Committee Co-Chair October 2021
Dr Marc Broadbent Committee Member October 2018
Christopher Clarke Committee Chair October 2018
Professor Julie Considine Committee Member October 2018
Associate Professor Julia Crilly Committee Member October 2018
Professor Kate Curtis Committee Member October 2018
Professor Margaret Fry Committee Member October 2018
Dr Bronwyn Griffin Committee Member October 2018
Dr Amy Johnston Committee Member October 2018
Dr Lisa Kuhn Committee Member October 2018
Assistant Professor Jamie Ranse Committee Member October 2018
Belinda Scott Committee Member October 2018
Professor Ramon Shaban Committee Member October 2018


Contact details

For more information about Research please refer to resources.


To contact this group please email