Honour Board 2014

Emergency Nurse of the Year

(sponsored by The Benchmarque Group)

  • Wayne Varndell

Clinical Nurse Consultant, Emergency Department, Prince of Wales Hospital


Emergency Department of the Year

(sponsored by Midmed)

  • Prince of Wales Hospital


Ben Morley Scholarship (sponsored by Multigate and CENA)

Not Awarded


Philippa Moore publication prize

  • Jennifer Hosking
  • Julie Considine
  • Natisha Sands

for ‘Recognising clinical deterioration in emergency department patients’, Australasian Emergency Nursing Journal, 2014, 17(2), 59-67.


Julie Finucane OAM Medal for Leadership in Emergency Nursing

Not awarded


Conference Scientific Awards

CENA Best paper

  • James Hughes

Succession planning in the adult emergency department – the outcomes


CENA Best paper (runner up)

  • Peter Carr

Vascular access difficulty in the emergency room: Developing the VADER tool


CENA Best ePoster

  • Therese Oates

Innovation and Redesign for Emergency Nurses: Establishing a redesign culture in children’s health Queensland


CENA Best ePoster  (runner up)

  • Dr Amy Johnston
  • Nerolie Bost
  • Kate Gilmour
  • Cary Strong
  • Michael Aitken
  • Jo Timms
  • Tonya Donnelly
  • Kim Daniels
  • Julia Crilly

Meeting the challenge: Schoolies and the on site health tent


ASEM Best Scientific Paper (rural)

  • Matthew Barnveld

Telehealth: Improving emergency care in rural and remote Queensland


ASEM Best Scientific Paper (metropolitan)

  • Julia Morphet

Transition to specialty practice programs in emergency nursing


Emergency Care Institute – Evidence into Action Research Paper

  • Sue Anderton

Improving the management of adult patients presenting to the emergency department with atrial fibrillation with rapid ventricular response