Honour Board 2017

Julie Finucane OAM Medal for Leadership in Emergency Nursing

  • Professor Kate Curtis, The University of Sydney


Emergency Nurse of the Year

(sponsored by Clinical Excellence Commission)

  • Vanessa Gorman,Nurse Unit Manager, Northpark Private Emergency Department


Emergency Department of the Year

(sponsored by Midmed)

  • Box Hill Hospital ED – VIC

Innovation in Emergency Care Grant

(sponsored by Telefex)

  • Claire Hutchinson, for ‘Why do patients represent to the emergency department? A mixed methods enquiry


Elaine Killeen Continuing Professional Development Scholarship

(sponsored by MDevices)

  • Amy Johnston


Ellaine Killeen Continuing Professional Development Scholarship

(sponsored by CENA)

  • Erin O’Callaghan
  • Kerryn Rhodes

Conference Awards

  • Emergency Care Institute Evidence into Practice Best Paper: Professor Kate Curtis, Dr Connie Van, A/Professor Stephen Asha, Dr Mary Lam, Dr Annalise Unsworth, Dr Louise Atkins, Dr Madison Reynolds, for ‘Implementation evaluation and refinement of an intervention to improve blunt chest injury management’


  • Best Research Study: Samantha Hoole, for ‘An exploration of the barriers and enablers to meaningful engagement with multidisciplinary simulation education among doctors and nurses in the emergency department’


  • Best research Study (Poster): Wayne Varndell, Kylie Lovato, Alison Jeffers, Nadya Marquez-Hunt, & Rebecca Carroll for ‘Patient medication literacy and safety in an emergency department’
  • Best Innovation Project: Allison Jordan & Matt Luther, for ‘Go hard in the waiting room: Early methoxyflurane’


  • Best Innovation Project (Poster): Vanessa Gorman & Emily Knights, for ‘Disposition from the ED – a qualitative analysis of how a nurse call back system can be an effective method to improve patient experience and give valuable information for improvement’