Author Photo

Queensland CENA Branch

“The committee is comprised of a group of passionate ED nurses who are working on behalf of all QLD CENA members to address issues at both a state and national level.

We aim to provide members with education and activities that they can access both via the webpage and other modalities. Your needs are important to us and your input is welcome.

If you would like to contribute to events, have suggestions or queries, please contact us via email.”

QLD Branch Committee

Lorelle Malyon Acting President | Administrative Director (expires Oct 2019)
Vacant Vice President
Katie East Secretary | National Board Member (expires Oct 2019)
Julie Finucane Treasurer (expires Oct 2018)
Amy Johnson Committee Member (expires Oct 2019)
Angela Devlin Committee Member (expires Oct 2019)
Carmel Larkin Committee Member (expires Oct 2019)
Elizabeth Elder Committee Member (expires Oct 2019)
Elizabeth Quinn Committee Member (expires Oct 2018)
Theona Stone Committee Member (expires Oct 2018)
Kelly Foster Committee Member (expires Oct 2019)

QLD CENA Trauma Nursing Program (TNP)


The Emergency Program is a two day program developed for nurses providing emergency care to trauma patients across the lifespan, in both metropolitan and regional/rural settings.

The program consists of facilitated lecture discussion, practical hands-on workshops, skill stations and simulation scenarios.

Below is a list of the courses currently on offer in QLD or visit the webpage for more details.



16 – 17 June


11 – 12 August


18 – 19 August


25 – 26 August


1 – 2 September


1 – 2 September


22 – 23 September


15-16 November


22 – 23 November




Credentialing: Lorelle Malyon

Education: Elizabeth Elder/Carmel Larkin

Marketing: vacant

Membership & Representation: vacant

Professional Standards: Julie Finucane

Research: Kelly Foster/Amy Johnson


Wellness in Emergency Care

On May 30, CENA Qld held an education evening that focussed on wellness. Our guest speaker for this fun night was Natalie Cook OAM, 5 times Olympian and Olympic Gold and Bronze medalist who discussed self-care strategies that aim to promote mental and physical health.  The night was well attended with nursing, medical and paramedicine represented from a number of SEQ hospitals. The night concluded with a light supper. Thank you to all that attended and especially to Natalie who was such a great speaker.